Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome

Welcome to my reporter blog.  It’s a personal way to share my professional life. The decades of interesting work that became rudely interrupted by something that has resulted in a whole new piece of work.  My life is the subject of a memoir, Crash Course: A Reporter’s Journey into Prison, co-written with my husband, novelist Philip Austin. The manuscript, excerpted here,  is currently under consideration by several major publishers. It’s a stark, often funny, hopefully intriguing examination of my lost and found years of rape, alcoholism, and eventually incarceration in our nation’s oldest women’s prison. Recently I was interviewed by Dick Gordon, host of American Public Media’s The Storyhttp://thestory.org/an in-depth discussion of  how a veteran NPR reporter ended up behind the razor wire for nearly five years. Airing date and archive link will be published on this blog soon, as well as ongoing links to publishing and broadcast credits as they emerge. It’s been a long, strange trip, lots of ups and downs, disasters and epiphanies, as I reenter the reporter’s world I so love, and left behind an eternity ago. Thanks for visiting. Feel free to leave a note. I’d love to hear from you. Pippin.

One response

  1. Retha Dooley

    Pippin,

    I listened with interest to your “story” on NPR the other night. It was of interest to me for several reasons: 1. I was sexually abused as a child and never shared that information. 2. I was a “corrections officer” at the Women’s Prison in Minnesota in the early 70’s (I left that job in less than a year). 3. I have been in “recovery” for alcohol and drug addiction since 1978. 4. I have long known that women have a story to tell, and it is through sharing our stories with one another that we heal. So, thank you for your story.

    March 4, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

